Counseling Faculty

 


Tamara Hinojosa, Ph.D. head shot Tamara Hinojosa, Ph.D., LPC
Associate Professor                                                                                      Department Chair
Tamara.Hinojosa@tamusa.edu 
210-784-2562 
Madla 336  
Faculty Profile Page




Research and Scholarly Interests:

Use of narrative inquiry in counseling research
Impact of significant life turning points on identity development


 Michael Moyer, Ph.D. Moyer Headshot

 Professor                                                                                                               Associate Chair                                                                                               Michael.Moyer@tamusa.edu
 210-784-2589 
 Madla 336 
 Faculty Profile Page

 


Research and Scholarly Interests:

Ethical Decision Making
Non-Suicidal Self-Injury


Alana Collins, Ph.D. head shot Alana Collins, Ph.D.
Assistant Professional Track
Alana.Biediger-Collins@tamusa.edu 
210-784-2522 
Madla 341
Faculty Profile Page



 

Research and Scholarly Interests:
Conflict resolution
Emotions/coping/stress/resilience
Psychological assessment
Educational psychology


Ernest Cox, Ph.D. head shot Ernest Cox, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Ernest.Cox@tamusa.edu
210-784-2535 
Madla 342
Faculty Profile Page

 



Research and Scholarly Interests:

Comprehensive school counseling programs (planning, developing, managing, implementing, and evaluating)
Professional school counseling - clinical, administrative, and developmental supervision
Creative interventions in school counseling
Using data to drive school counseling programs


Sabina de Vries, Ph.D. head shot Sabina de Vries, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Sabina.Devries@tamusa.edu
210-784-2513
Madla 368 
Faculty Profile Page

 



Research and Scholarly Interests:

PTSD
Domestic Violence and Homelessness
Counselors in Private Practice
Emotionally Focused Therapy


Patrick McDaniel, Ph.D. head shot Patrick McDaniel, Ph.D.
Assistant Professional Track
Patrick.McDaniel@tamusa.edu
210-784-2593
Madla 340
Faculty Profile Page

 



Research and Scholarly Interests:

Social, Educational, and Emotional Implications Associated with At-Risk Youth
Experiential Therapy/ Education
Existential Approach to Student Engagement
Development and Evaluation of Social Programs
Substance Abuse Prevention and Education

 


Scott Peters, Ph.D. head shot Scott Peters, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Scott.Peters@tamusa.edu
210-784-2532 
Madla 364
Faculty Profile Page

 



Research and Scholarly Interests:

Transgender Youth & Homelessness
Actors in the Classroom
Substance Use Training of School Counselors


Charles Tatum, Ph.D. head shot Charles Tatum, Ph.D.
Assistant Professional Track
Charles.TatumJr@tamusa.edu
210-784-2526 
Madla 347 
Faculty Profile Page

 



Research and Scholarly Interests:

Posttraumatic Stress Disorder
Anxiety Disorders
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder


Christine Wong, Ph.D. head shot Christine Wong, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
CWong@tamusa.edu
210-784-2591 
Madla 349
Faculty Profile Page

 



Research and Scholarly Interests:

Spirituality in Counseling
Marginalized Populations


Ray Wooten Ph.D., LPC-S head shot Ray Wooten Ph.D., LPC-S
Professor of Counseling and Guidance
HWooten@tamusa.edu
210-784-2588
Madla 363
Faculty Profile Page

Research and Scholarly Interests:
Embodied social justice approaches for counselors
Body, embodiment, and movement in marriage and family counseling
Breath, Movement, and Mindfulness to promote physical and emotional wellness


Wendy Hernandez
Academic Advisor
Wendy.Hernandez@tamusa.edu
210-784-1414
Madla 336 


Angela Reyes
Administrative assistant 
Angela.Reyes@tamusa.edu
210-784-2521
Madla 336