Texas A&M San Antonio Foundation announces recipients of Dream Maker Awards

By Office of Institutional Advancement & University Communications
Wednesday, 10 16 2013

Marilu Reyna or Jillian Reddish
Email: Marilu.Reyna@tamusa.tamus.edu or Jillian.Reddish@tamusa.tamus.edu  
Phone: (210) 326-0003 or (210) 784-1103

SAN ANTONIO —The Texas A&M San Antonio Foundation honored Texas Secretary of State John Steen, his wife Ida, and Peggy and Dan Allen Hughes, Jr. at their fourth annual scholarship luncheon today. The event raises scholarship support for students of Texas A&M University-San Antonio.

Steens receive Dream Maker Award“Weisie and I are honored to share in the Dream Maker Award this year with our friends Peggy and Dan Allen Hughes,” said John Steen, Texas Secretary of State. “We are especially proud to work with outstanding university leaders like Dr. Ferrier to help Texas A&M-San Antonio continue its strong growth and commitment to quality higher education for Texas students.”

John and his wife Ida, who is a Regent Emerita of The Texas A&M University System and is currently a member of the Texas A&M San Antonio Foundation Board, have supported Texas A&M-San Antonio from the time of its establishment as a system center. Philanthropists Peggy and Dan Allen Hughes, Jr. are longtime supporters of the Texas A&M System and higher education throughout South Texas.

“As graduates of Texas A&M, it is so special for us to see an A&M System university right here in our hometown of San Antonio,” said Hughes. “It is a privilege for us to accept this award from the Texas A&M San Antonio Foundation.”

The Dream Maker Award, established in 2009, honors community members for their significant contributions to education and in making the dream of a higher degree possible for thousands. Past honorees include Peter Holt (2012), Dr. Carl F. Raba (2011), and Lowry Mays (2010).

Hughes accept Dream Maker Award“Scholarship support is absolutely critical for so many of students at Texas A&M-San Antonio, and fundraising for scholarships is the primary mission of the Texas A&M San Antonio Foundation,” said Mark Outlaw, chairman of the Texas A&M San Antonio Foundation Board. “We are indebted to Ida Clement Steen and Secretary John Steen for all of their efforts for this university, and to Peggy and Dan Allen Hughes Jr. for the amazing support of the Texas A&M University System and the cause of higher education for students throughout our region.”

Texas A&M University System Regent Elaine Mendoza served as Mistress of Ceremonies. The event was held at the Pearl Stables at 11:30 a.m. Guests included State Senators Donna Campbell, Leticia Van De Putte, Glenn Hegar, State Representatives Philip Cortez, Joe Farias and Jose Menendez and various city and county dignitaries. Past Dream Maker Honorees, Dr. Carl Raba and Lowry Mays, were also present; both are members of the Texas A&M San Antonio Executive Advisory Board.