2016 Faculty Award Recipients

By Office of the President
Friday, 06 24 2016
Message from the President

2016 Faculty Award Recipients

Dear Members of the University Community:

I am pleased to announce the recipients of the inaugural 2016 Texas A&M University-San Antonio Faculty Awards:

  • Dr. Edward Westermann, Distinguished Teaching Award
  • Dr. Corinna Ross, Distinguished Scholarly, Research or Artistic Achievement Award
  • Dr. Theresa Dorel, Distinguished Service Award

In spring 2016, the nominations were solicited for all three categories. Both the Research Award and Service Award had three nominees, while the Teaching Award had six.

A committee comprised of the Faculty Senate and representatives from each College reviewed, evaluated and ranked the portfolios of each candidate. Provost Steven Olswang, J.D., Ph.D., also reviewed them and made recommendations to me.

Please join me in congratulating the outstanding performances of our colleagues. We will formally recognize these individuals at the Fall 2016 Convocation on August 18, 2016.


Warm Regards, 

Dr. Cynthia Teniente-Matson

Dr. Cynthia Teniente-Matson