Merit Award - Phase II


Dear Members of the A&M-San Antonio Community,

Last summer, I shared with you the details of a merit pay award for eligible employees based on performance as a result of the to the positive outcome of the legislative budget cycle.

This merit award plan consisted of two phases, with both phases tied to the eligible employee’s 2019 overall evaluation ratings, which ended March 1, 2019. Phase I of the merit plan was a one-time award distributed September 1, 2019, to those eligible. The awarding of Phase II, which affected the eligible employee’s base salary, was contingent on meeting our fall enrollment targets and eligible employees maintaining exemplary performance.

I am pleased to share that we are now ready to award Phase II of this plan. These awards provide recognition of the exemplary work and outstanding contributions of our A&M-San Antonio faculty and staff, which contributed to a year of growth; our ability to deliver quality educational experiences for our students; as well as further advancing the institution’s reputation.

The base pay increase is scheduled to be awarded March 1, 2020. As with Phase I, managers will have flexibility to determine the merit awards for eligible employees based on performance ratings and continued exemplary performance.

Please contact the Office of Human Resources at 2058 or with any questions about the Merit Award Plan, performance reviews and ratings or eligibility.

Each day I see firsthand the excellent work of our faculty and staff. While the hours are often long, the work could not be more important. I hope you know how much the members of the Cabinet and I deeply appreciate your talents, creativity and expertise – and most of all, your commitment to our students. While it is nearly impossible to capture all of these efforts, I encourage you to take a few minutes to watch the 2019 year in review video. It represents just some of our exemplary work, and I hope you share the same sense of pride that I take in our collective accomplishments at A&M-San Antonio.

Thank you,
Cynthia Teniente-Matson