Post Election Message from Dr Matson

pink tile
yellow tile
By University Communications
Wednesday, 11 04 2020

Dear A&M-San Antonio Community,

As the 2020 presidential election draws to a close, across the nation we await the final count of ballots. A record number of votes across our nation is an affirmation of active citizenship. I want to recognize the Mays Center for Experiential Learning and Community Engagement and our students, who led efforts for voter registration and spearheaded education events throughout the year. Participating in our democracy by voting is a profound privilege, one that I am proud our campus helps to support for our community. Nearly 200 members of our university community and Bexar County residents voted on campus.

Just as the election of 2016 was unprecedented and at times contentious, the 2020 election cycle proved challenging. As many political scientists have pointed out, this has been perhaps the most hard-fought national election in modern history and--coinciding with the global COVID-19 pandemic and unrest—2020 has been a year unlike any other in most Americans’ lifetimes.

Locally, the community supported the City of San Antonio Propositions A and B to continue funding the next eight years for Pre-K 4 SA with the renewal of a 1/8 cent sales and workforce development to fund a workforce training and education program. A&M-San Antonio alum Leo Pacheco (District 118) was re-elected to the Texas House of Representatives and the first woman of color, Rebecca “Becky” Clay-Flores, was elected to the Bexar County Court of Commissioners. The University sits within the districts served by Clay-Flores and Pacheco and we look forward to working collaboratively. Other results can be found on the Bexar County Elections Department website.

As the results of the national election are determined – what remains certain is who we are: an institution of excellence and a growing HSI. Let me take this moment to say how incredibly proud I am of the University community’s outreach and advocacy for voting as well as your continued commitment to respect a chorus of views and voices. 

Dr. Cynthia Teniente-Matson