Hazing Prevention

On June 15, 2019, the 86th Texas Legislature passed S.B. 38 authored by Senator Judith Zaffirini, to update Texas law on hazing. In accordance with these changes, A&M-San Antonio will be publishing and distributing, no later than the 14th day before class each Fall and Spring, a report on hazing. The most up to date can be accessed by clicking the following button.

Hazing Report

It is important to know that hazing is not just a violation of university rules; hazing is a crime. Under the law, a hazing offense can be committed not only by engaging in a hazing activity, but also by soliciting, directing, encouraging, aiding or attempting to aid another in hazing; by intentionally, knowingly or recklessly allowing hazing to occur; or by failing to report, in writing to the Dean of Students or another appropriate official of the institution, first-hand knowledge that a hazing incident is planned or has occurred. The fact that a person consented to or acquiesced to a hazing activity is not a defense to prosecution for hazing under the law.

Anyone with knowledge of hazing that has occurred, or has potential to occur, should report it as soon as possible.

Hazing Prevention Committee

The Hazing Prevention Committee is a group of students, staff, and faculty charged with educating the Texas A&M University-San Antonio about hazing with the goal of preventing hazing behaviors from coming to our campus. The committee is responsible for developing and executing an educational plan for the community annually including hosting National Hazing Prevention Week activities on campus each Fall. 

Hazing Prevention Committee Members
Armando Alanis Flores Student Government Association
Allyssa Atkinson Student Government Association
Micayla Bean Student Rights and Responsibilities
Jo Anna Benavides-Franke AVP Student Engagement/Dean of Students
Trevor Brunet Competitive Sports
John De La Rosa Student Success
Richard Delgado Jr. Military Affairs
Cristina Dominguez Student Involvement, Fraternity & Sorority Life
Reece Gindhart All Greek Council
Catherine Love-Washington Student Counseling and Wellness Services
Janice Parten Title IX
Joseph Simpson Faculty Senate
Karen Tucker-Engel University Police Department

Previous Reports