Alumni Awards

The Alumni Awards Ceremony is an annual event that occurs around the time of Fall Fest, a signature event on campus that provides student organizations with opportunities to fundraise for their groups.

Three awards are given each year.  This year, the awards ceremony took place on Saturday, October 14, 2023, at noon

Photos from the 2023 event can be viewed here.

The Recent Graduate award is given to an alumnus/a who has earned an undergraduate degree in the last 3 years and is doing exciting things in the world.  

The Spirit of the Jaguar award is given to an alumnus/a providing excellent service and volunteerism to the University and/or community.  

The Distinguished Alumni award is given to an alumnus/a with a stellar professional career. 

Nominations are solicited from staff, students, faculty and alumni each August via e-mail and social media. 


2023 Alumni Awards

Brian Harrin '16 - Distinguished AlumniJuanita Sepulveda '11, '15, '16 - Spirit of the JaguarClayton Jaskinia '20 - Recent Graduate

2022 Alumni Awards

Alexander Greig '16 - Distinguished AlumniJacinta Flores '15, '19 - Spirit of the JaguarLa-Tieka Sims Howell '20 - Recent Graduate


2021 Alumni Awards

Nathan R. Mara '17 – Distinguished AlumniLeWayne Ballard '13, 14 - Spirit of the JaguarSa L. Huynh ’18 – Recent Graduate


2020 Alumni Awards

Tim Ingram '13 – Distinguished AlumniIrma Iris Duran de Rodriguez '14 - Spirit of the JaguarChristopher A. Castro ’17 – Recent Graduate


2019 10-Year Anniversary Alumni Awards Recipients

In celebration of its 10-year anniversary in 2019, Texas A&M University-San Antonio honored 10 alumni at its annual awards ceremony, one for each class year, instead of its traditional three awardees. These alumni were awarded the Distinguished Alumni Award, the Recent Graduate Award or the Spirit of the Jaguar Award.

Each alumnus/a was recognized at a brunch on Saturday, October 19, a kickoff to Fall Fest, and received a crystal obelisk and a framed citation.

Photos of the event can be found at

Gary Guerra ’09, ’12 – Distinguished AlumniMarinella Murillo ’10 – Spirit of the Jaguar
Antonio Villarreal ’11, ’14 – Distinguished Alumni Giselle Calvillo ’12 - Distinguished Alumni
Fidela Arroyo ’13 – Spirit of the Jaguar Bianca Goodrum ’14 – Spirit of the Jaguar
Kristal Eaker ’12, ’15 – Spirit of the Jaguar Jessica Greig ’16 – Recent Graduate
Sharon Aguillen ’17 – Distinguished Alumni Blanca Banda ’08, ’18 – Spirit of the Jaguar

2018 Alumni Awards

Ben Zeller '09 - Distinguished AlumniRichard Delgado, Jr. '10 - Spirit of the JaguarAlyssa De La O Ochoa '16 - Recent Graduate