Web Accessibility Standards

Texas A&M University-San Antonio web standards support the principle of "Universal Design" which promotes a high degree of usability for people with visual, hearing, physical, language and cognitive disabilities. Standards are in accordance with the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) in their Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI), and the standards the government has adopted for federal websites as Section 508.

These four general standards are from the W3C's Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 (WCAG 2.0), Level AA.

  • P =Perceivable
  • O = Operable
  • U = Understandable
  • R = Robust


  • Provide text alternatives for non-text content
  • Provide captions and alternatives for audio and video content
  • Make content adaptable; and make it available to assistive technologies
  • Use sufficient contrast to make things easy to see and hear


  • Make all functionality keyboard accessible
  • Give users enough time to read and use content
  • Do not use content that causes seizures
  • Help users navigate and find content


  • Make text readable and understandable
  • Make content appear and operate in predictable ways
  • Help users avoid and correct mistakes


  • Maximize compatibility with current and future technologies