yellow tile

University Strategic Plan

From the Chair of the Strategic Steering Committee, Jessica Loudermilk: On behalf of the Strategic Plan Steering Committee and with great pride in the Texas A&M University-San Antonio Community, I’m pleased to present Transforming Tomorrow Together, our Strategic Plan for 2022-2026.

It is your day-to-day efforts over the next five years that will bring Transforming Tomorrow Together to life and put the transformative power of higher education to work for our students and in our community. I am grateful to my fellow steering committee and task force members for their commitment and dedication to the planning process, and to all of you whose voices and points of view informed our work. I look forward to continued collaboration as we implement the plan and to celebrating our successes together in 2026.

Mission, Vision, Values and Goals

A Bold Vision for the Future

Inspired by the imagination and spirit of A&M-San Antonio’s founders, we have developed a long-term strategic vision that provides a framework to guide our growth for the next two decades. It is within this framework that we will create the 2022-2026 strategic plan, Transforming Tomorrow Together, and subsequent plans, as we position the University to become a thriving Hispanic-Serving Institution that is ready to meet the challenges and opportunities of the future.

Charting a Course for the Next Five Years

In January 2021, while embarking on the final year in the life of our previous strategic plan, Build. Impact. Transform. , Texas A&M University-San Antonio kicked off a strategic plan renewal process to develop our current 5-year strategic plan. The university was guided in this process by CampusWorks , a consulting firm dedicated exclusively to higher education institutions, offering support across a wide variety of functional areas and strategic capabilities.


As a proud Hispanic-Serving and Military-Embracing Institution with a predominantly first-generation student population, Texas A&M University-San Antonio transforms lives and our community by delivering a quality higher education experience that is accessible and inclusive, and by empowering students for academic success, rewarding careers, and engaged global citizenship.


Texas A&M University-San Antonio will be a rising doctoral-granting university with a robust research portfolio, a national reputation for fostering equitable learning experiences and outcomes, and increasing influence as a catalyst for social, cultural, and economic impact.


We are student centered.

We exist, first and foremost, to serve our students and support their academic success, professional development, and personal growth. We meet our students where they are and are intentional in understanding and serving their needs.

We are inclusivity-minded and respectful.

We embrace individual and cultural differences as a strength of our community, and share in the responsibility to co-create a culture and shared mindset in which each member is accepted, valued, safe, and can thrive.

We are visionary.

We reject the status quo and take an “all things are possible” approach to building a university of the future, embracing innovative ways of thinking and doing.

We are a catalyst for opportunity.

We create transformative, equitable experiences and outcomes for our students, employees, and community. We engage in and support teaching, learning, and research that advance the creation of knowledge, improve our understanding of the world, and effect positive change.

We are collaborative.

We understand the value of working together across disciplinary and organizational lines, and embrace a spirit of collaboration, both within the University and with our community partners.

We are committed to excellence.

We foster a culture of holistic wellbeing, achievement, and excellence, grounded in the honor, integrity, and traditions that are the hallmarks of the Texas A&M University System.

Strategic Plan Steering Committee


Jessica Loudermilk


Chief of Staff Office of the President


Dr. Mari Fuentes-Martin

Co-chair, Student Experience Task Force

Vice President of Student Affairs

Brandy McLelland

Brandy McLelland

Co-chair, Access & Affordability Task Force

Vice President of Enrollment Management


Dr. Adriana Contreras

Chair, Impact & Engagement Task Force

Associate Vice President and Executive Director of the Mays Center

Kathryn Funk-Baxter

Kathryn Funk-Baxter

Chair, Culture of Excellence Task Force

Vice President of Business Affairs/CFO

Tim Gritten Headshot

Tim Gritten

Chair, President's Commission on Equity

Executive Director University Library


Leonard Love

Faculty Senate President

College of Business Associate Professor


Jacob Goldstein

Student Government Association President