Central Academic Building Banner

Presidential Search

Finding Our New University President

A sole finalist has been selected for the role of president of Texas A&M University-San Antonio. Updates will be published as they occur.

pink tile

Dr. Salvador Hector Ochoa Named University President

Dr. Ochoa

The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents announced Dr. Salvador Hector Ochoa as the third president of Texas A&M University-San Antonio. Dr. Ochoa currently serves as provost and senior vice president for academic affairs at San Diego State University. He is a graduate of Texas A&M University and a South Texas native. 

Read the A&M System's announcement.






Search Committee

Texas A&M University System

Mike Hernandez
Regent & Committee Chairman
Jay Graham

Texas A&M University-San Antonio

Philis Barragan-Goetz
Assistant Professor, Department of Communication, History, and Philosophy
Mary Kay Cooper
Director of Alumni Affairs and Staff Council President

Walter Den
Professor, Department of Mathematical, Physical & Engineering Sciences
Berenice de la Cruz
Assistant Professor, Department of Counseling, Health and Kinesiology

Megan Wise de Valdez
Associate Professor, Department of Life Sciences
Jacob Goldstein
Student Government Association President
Jessica Loudermilk
Chief of Staff
Leonard Love
Associate Professor, Department of Management and Marketing and Faculty Senate President
Vanessa Quiroga
Executive Director of Community Partnerships & Campus Visit Experience
Adrianna Santos
Associate Professor, Department of Language, Literature, and Arts

Darnell Smith
Director of Intercollegiate Athletics and Recreational Sports

Community Members

Jim Adams
Retired Telecommunications Executive
Henry Cisneros
Former Mayor of San Antonio
Jane H. Macon
Partner at Bracewell Law Firm
Nelson Wolff
Bexar County Judge